profile pic 1…a note from the author

I continue to receive appreciation for my commentary and keen acknowledgement of the words and pictures contained in editorial pieces I have published over this WordPress platform, and four separate internet based outlets in fact, over the course of the eight years of being a respected theatre critic in The Midlands UK, and four, fine and jolly years heading TSS. Though the commercial pull does detract from the kind of writing I would rather be doing, I feel very proud of the reputation I have built of having that special kind of trustworthy influence online. There have been many one-off working partnerships formed (and sometimes repeated) and some important Press contacts made. My contacts are a real eclectic mix so I’ve been very fortunate. I can safely say that the majority have always valued the airing of professional, independent opinion contained within editorial content of quality, wrapped up and presented in this unique little blog where all kinds of things  are reviewed, everything from Salad Leaves to Stage shows, and the most important to know here at TSS is that ‘Reviews are Never Fake or Biased‘. More about all of that at ABOUT/DISCLAIMER



‘Thanks so much for awarding BCT Business of the Month, really pleased. I think the article is a great read, and very accurate’  British Ceramic Tiles (August 2015)

Ravensburger love your reviews‘ Ravensburger Puzzle Club (August 2015)

We really loved the articles you’ve done about us‘ Shaken Udder (August 2015)

‘The Puji Furniture team were proud to scoop the national TSS Business Award of the month for June 2015’ Mentioned on Puji Furniture’s own blog (July 2015)

‘Trusted Review’ republished in full at Swan

‘Thank you for writing such a lovely piece about Northern Tea Merchants’ James Pogson – Business Owner (Nov 2014)

‘Really good review and really happy with your comments and all of your points are well made and factually correct’ Eco-Touch (April 2013)

‘Just a small note to say what a great review and one I have just stumbled across. I obviously love our coffee and spent many many months developing these blends and kind comments like yours make those long days all the more worthwhile. I will pass this around our team and Scott I know will also want to say a big thanks. From a very humbled coffee roaster’ Comment from Paddy Bishopp, Co-Founder of Paddy & Scotts (October 2012)

‘an Independent Review’ rerepublished in full at Katie Bakes (September 2011)


**** “Play with much entertainment value” This hook line taken from the review published (Nov 2009) at Remotegoat appeared in print on flyers advertising the show abroad Re: Love, Sax and all that Jazz


we appreciate all your coverage‘ Bloomsbury Kids UK (August 2015)

Tweet from Andy Seed, Children’s Author

‘Thank you for your review, in depth but great. I have just finished reading it and agree with everything you have written’  Re: Book Review of PLAY by Dr Amanda Gummer (May 2015)

The Grey Matter Press DEATH’S REALM anthology gets another great review! This time from reviewer Debra Hall who says…”Each story holds its own distinction. Recommended’ Anthony Rivera Publisher/Editor (April 2015)

Tweet from author, Jamie Steane


‘Thank you for this, looks great and comments on breakfast have been sent on to the head chef and restaurant manager for their consideration’ Best Western Brook Hotel (July 2013)


‘Thanks so much for this – great piece!’ Dulux Colour Awards (April 2015)